Oh Man!

1 Sep

IMG_3895

I just got so mad at New York.  Let me explain.

Tonight I had the hankering for some chicken chow mein.  Now what comes to mind when I say that?  Some crispy noodles and some chicken maybe a little veg.  Instead I got the blobbity blob up above.

EW!  Chow mein? What have you become?   I was informed later by my boyfriend that this is what Chow Mein is out here in NY.  Lo Mein is the noodles.  WHAT?  I didn’t believe him, so I called the restaurant and they told me the same.  Since when does Chow Mein = Nasty chicken in corn starch and blobby vegetables?  I mean it’s no one’s fault but my own but I was so disappointed and it was yet another reason New York’s charm is not only less shiny but it has now rusted in my mind.  But also, who orders this?  Is there someone out there that craves this and orders it?  Maybe I’m being a jerk.

I ate it anyway because good money was paid and in case you were wondering, yes, it tastes like it looks.

Wow I’m a brat.  But I had to make the point, mein=noodles in Chinese, so why would it be in the title of the dish and fool me like that?  I should stop pretending I know Chinese.

2 Responses to “Oh Man!”

  1. Frances September 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    Yes!!! I have childhood memories of loving Beef Chow Mein with the crispy noodles at Wong’s Wok in Madison, Wi. One day I thought I’d give it a try out here, and it was disgusting, just like this! I thought maybe my childhood memories had become distorted, but now I know that it’s not me; it’s New York City!!! I feel so relieved. I’m going to Wong’s Wok next time I go home.

  2. Frances September 3, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    p.s. I don’t think I knew you had a blog, so you might be getting a lot of comments from me.

Leave a Reply

