wish you were here

26 Nov

Hello Stef!

I am so late in posting my ‘wish you were here’, this week.

So today I decided to try to make a chocolate cake from scratch for Thanksgiving.  I know it’s not very Thanksgiving-like, but I decided to give it the ol’ college try. I’ve never used that phrase before, and there I went.

I found it on the Food Network’s site, by the Barefoot Contessa.  I love her.  She’s so happy and just kind of quietly and joyfully making stuff in her kitchen while her husband Jeffrey stops in every once in a while to say hello.  My favorite was when she wanted to recreate their time in a Paris brasserie and she made the same fish dish and even got a French paper for him, Le Monde, I think.  It’s the details I tell you.  The details.  Anyhoozles, I thought I’d try her recipe for chocolate cake.  I can’t tell how it turned out.  It smells great but also so chocolatey and sugary I’m wondering if I messed up somewhere.  2 cups of sugar, really?  Yeeesh!  My teeth cried a little when I poured those two cups into the mixing bowl. I think it’s too much.  What do I know….but I think it was too much.

I’ll tell you how it turns out…if I my teeth don’t fall when I take my first bite.  Wish you were here to give me cake advice.

Happy Thanksgiving my friend!

And for no reason at all…

Leave a Reply

