I ate a whole head of cauliflower

11 Feb

That’s right.  That is what I have done with my day.  Of course I’m working on other things but that is one of the things I accomplished today.  That’s right, I ate something.  My days lately have been filled with thinking of recipes that utilize vegetables in an attempt to be healthy. Unfortunately after fasting from Facebook for a total of 2 days, I learned little.  Soon enough I was back to my old ways.

Once, a while back, I went on that dreaded lemonade diet, or rather The Master Cleanse.  I lasted only 3 days.  It was a horrible time in my life.  I was dating someone I shouldn’t have been with and we were on the outs and both on the Cleanse.  It’s not best to be in a bad relationship and on a cleanse that makes you pee out of your butt.  The first day of not eating and drinking only spicy lemonade made me feel hungry and light headed and all I thought about was food.  All day.  If I could just nibble on a corner of a cracker, I thought, I might be able to make it a little longer.  Finally I quit after day 3 when I was in a rehearsal for a play and I couldn’t concentrate enough to deliver a line and move to a different point on stage.  It took everything within me to walk 2 feet on a diagonal and speak.  That was the end of that.

Afterwards, like two weeks later I got very nostalgic about it and liked to talk about how it “reset” my system and that I no longer craved things that were unhealthy.  Realistically, I lost about 5 pounds and felt like I could eat anything I wanted, after which I gained 10 pounds.  It’s all a hoax.  I wish there was a quick fix where I could be healthy and productive and full of power and light and reinvent something or invent something.  Maybe I should have fish oil or something.  Gah.  Health.

4 Responses to “I ate a whole head of cauliflower”

  1. Erin February 11, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I can’t wait for “The Becky Yamamoto Diet” to hit the bookstores.

  2. byamamoto February 11, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Me neither. It’ll be recipes full of broccoli and cauliflower and Beano.

  3. Emily April 11, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    I found this page by googling “ate a whole cauliflower”. I made the same decision tonight, and was seeking reassurance that I might not immediately die.

    In cruciferous solidarity,
    Emily

    • T January 10, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      Me too!!

Leave a Reply

