So Yeah, I Love Karaoke

20 Jul

That’s the name of my new biography.  I haven’t written a word of it yet, but it will document each and every one of my karaoke adventures.  Yeah, I know an instant classic. Anyways, my voice is made of pure glitter and feathers, in case you were wondering and unlike Jewel, people are mesmerized not by my vocal gold but more by the charisma I put behind each song.

So, I got my karaoke on with my two friends recently, and I was wearing a shirt I retired after last night.  I was trying to pass off a large silk shirt as hip and it didn’t work.  As I was saying, we sang the roof off the joint.   We were the only ones singing, in fact.  There was a huge bar with a handful of folks and just about every song was ours.  I started to feel like we were hogging the mic, but what can you do when you’re a karaoke beast?  As I was going through my karaoke repertoire, I decided to throw in a new one.  I love me some Beyoncé and I love ‘Single Ladies’.  Who doesn’t?  Well it wasn’t so much the actual song but my rendition of it that put people ill at ease.  I sounded like a screeching seagull and had a hard time keeping up. Oh for shame.  I made up for it later by singing my classic “Baby One More Time”.  But the memory of “Single Ladies” has been etched into my memory.

Here, you try it, then, THEN you can judge me.  Only then.

.

2 Responses to “So Yeah, I Love Karaoke”

  1. Erin July 20, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    I once tried to sing “Big Butts” by Sir Mix-A-Lot in a karaoke bar and it was the biggest mistake of my life. Not only did I make an enemy of Chris Gethard that night, but I also alienated the entire crowd at whatever crappy bar we were at.

    To moral of this story is: Don’t sing. Ever.

  2. byamamoto July 21, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Thanks for the life lesson, Erin. I only wish I had heard your message earlier, before it was too late.

Leave a Reply

