23 Mar

Auditioning is a funny thing.

Yesterday was maybe one of my more memorable auditions in a long time.  We were asked to improvise a scene in pairs based on the information they gave us, so in a way it was meant to be a little easier since we didn’t have to figure out where we were, who we were to each other or what we were focussed on.  My scene partner seemed like a nice guy.  He introduced himself and I shook his hand and he said “Hey that’s a firm handshake you got there.  I like that”,  and somewhere in the back of my head I thought, this could be awesome or an ut oh.

Because if someone says something like that, either they’re super friendly and extroverted or, they’re like a jokey uncle who wants to get the laughs out.  It turned out my scene partner was more uncle like.  Right when he got in, the jokes rolled off him like sweat on a cheap suit, and kept nudging me like I was in on it too, but I had no idea what he was talking about.

Then we started the scene, which started at a rip roaring pace and with him yelling “So you got the canoli!” and I kept saying “Yes, I have the canoli!”

It was maybe one of my favorite auditions ever.

One Response to “”

  1. Frances May 3, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh shit. That’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

